2016 Recipients 2017 Recipients 2018 FRC Recipients


The Fund for Research and Creativity (FRC) was established in 2015 by the President of Carnegie Mellon and supplemented by the College of Fine Arts to support research and creative projects across the CFA. It is established in recognition that there are few funding sources in the governmental, corporate, philanthropic or private sectors for the arts. 


FRC funding is available to all full-time faculty members within the College of Fine Arts.
Once a year the FRC committee evaluates applications and can distribute up to $40,000 in awards.  
Applications are accepted annually from January 15th through February 15th. Award announcements will be made April 2nd.
Selection Criteria

Proposals are competitively evaluated based on:

  • The vision, originality, quality and potential impact of the proposed project
  • The professional, artistic, and/or technical capabilities of the applicant(s) The feasibility of the project
  • The feasibility of the project
  • The potential impact of our funding and services on the project and for the artist(s) or researcher(s)
  • The extent to which the proposed work is unable to secure funding from traditional sources (e.g., private foundations, government agencies, corporations or private individuals), as argued by the applicant(s). In this case the applicant(s) are asked to explain the attempts made to seek funding from other sources and why there is difficulty in securing funding for the proposed project.   

Note: The Berkman Faculty Development Fund was established to help support projects that would otherwise be difficult to fund. This fund is directed primarily to junior faculty whose access to external support is less well developed, and to faculty working in chronically under-funded areas. In cases where a specific need is well documented, grants may be made to senior faculty and those working in fields that more easily attract outside support.  We encourage all full-time faculty to consider applying for Berkman Fund support. 

How to Apply

All applications must be submitted between January 15th through February 15th via our online application site. (When you apply you will notice that the site is hosted by the School of Art in support of this college activity. It however has restricted access.) Your application is your chance to tell us about your proposed project, why it’s interesting, and how you plan to use the grant. Your finished application will include:

  • A full proposal, following the criteria provided (Provide a proposal that is written in clear laymen language (i.e. for someone with no knowledge of your project and area of academic pursuit).
  • A detailed budget for the project
  • Pertinent supporting materials, including prior work samples, preliminary research, etc.

Funding Policies

Applicants can request FRC support to obtain research materials, hire student assistants or outside contractors, purchase equipment, rent time in a recording studio, etc., as required to create the work. Collaborative projects are welcome, and partnerships across disciplines are encouraged. Projects are to be primarily faculty research projects. This grant is NOT intended to:

  • fund student research that is being overseen by faculty
  • ​​support initiatives that are primarily pedagogical in nature (Research projects that have a pedagogical element are welcome, but if your project is primarily aimed at course development or classroom innovation, then the Wimmer Faculty Fellows grant and other resources aimed at teaching would be more appropriate funding sources.)
  • support symposia, conference or lecture series development
  • support conference fees or travel expenses, except where such travel is an integral part of making and/or realizing a project supported by the Fund
  • support computer hardware or equipment that can be obtained through other funding venues such as departmental funds, start-up accounts or external sources of funding. If you are requesting funding for computer hardware or equipment, you must clearly explain the need and use related to your proposal and what becomes of the computer hardware/equipment after you project has concluded.

Grants are given as cash awards for materials and supplies related to your project only, and will not affect the financial aid of students employed on the project. The IP rights of finished work will remain with the scholar(s) or artist(s).

Recipients of FRC grants from previous award cycles are eligible to apply for new or repeat funding, on the strict condition that all reporting requirements for prior support have been satisfactorily met.
Reporting Requirements

Final reports are due within three months of project completion and should include the following:

  • A narrative summarizing the project’s process and outcome
  • Documentation of the supported project, which could include any combination of photographs, video, and/or audio recordings. Please note that videos should be delivered as high-resolution movie files (.mov, .avi, .mp4, etc.) and not as links to streaming services such as YouTube or Vimeo.
  • A financial report itemizing all income and expenses for the project

Wherever the works are exhibited it is to be noted that “the work was supported in part by funding from the College of Fine Arts Fund for Research and Creativity” as part of the work’s provenance.

A public presentation or exhibition of work may be made upon completion and during the academic year. It is the intention for these outcomes to live on a CFA website to celebrate the ongoing work of faculty recipients of the grant.

FRC committee members

  • Senior Associate Dean, Eric Anderson (Chair)*
  • Associate Head of Architecture, Mary-Lou Arscott*
  • Faculty Administrative Rep for Art, Clayton Merrell*
  • Associate Head of Design, Stephen Stadelmeier*
  • Associate Head of Drama, Richard Block*
  • Associate Head of Music, Ken Keeling*
  • Director of Studio for Creative Inquiry, Golan Levin

Appointed faculty member from each school: 

  • Architecture, Gerard Damiani (2018-2019)
  • Art, Paolo Pedercini (2018-2019)
  • Design, Kyuha Shim (2018-19)
  • Drama, Rob Thomson* (2018)
  • Music, Daniel Teadt* (2018)​

Past committee members: 

  • Architecture, Jeremy Ficca* (2016-2017)
  • Art, Suzie Silver* (2016-2017)
  • Design, Peter Scupelli* (2016-2017)
  • Drama, Rob Thomson* (2016-2017)
  • Music, Daniel Teadt* (2016-2017)​

The inaugural committee members

For questions contact Eric Anderson: ea@cmu.edu

Last update: 2.05.18

Back to Top